Organisational Structure

The Victorian Planning Authority plans in a number of different areas across Victoria. These functions are reflected in the organisation’s team structures.

The organisation is broken into seven teams, outlined below. You can read about the VPA’s leadership team here.

Inner Melbourne

The Inner Melbourne team leads the planning for the transformation of state significant precincts and major sites in inner Melbourne into well designed vibrant and resilient places that support high value jobs, build new communities and enhance Melbourne’s reputation as a global city. These precincts will be planned and developed hand in hand with state and local government, industry and the community.

The Inner City areas include:

  • City of Darebin (in part)
  • City of Maribyrnong
  • City of Melbourne
  • City of Moreland (in part)
  • City of Port Phillip
  • City of Yarra

Middle Melbourne

Planning for urban renewal of strategic sites and precincts in partnership with councils and stakeholders, to increase the percentage of new housing and grow employment opportunities in established areas. This implements government policy by delivering housing choice and jobs to meet population growth and create 20-minute neighbourhoods close to existing services and public transport.

These areas include:

  • City of Banyule
  • City of Bayside
  • City of Boroondara
  • City of Darebin (north of Bell Street)
  • City of Frankston
  • City of Glen Eira
  • City of Greater Dandenong
  • City of Kingston
  • City of Knox
  • City of Manningham
  • City of Maroondah
  • City of Monash
  • City of Moonee Valley
  • City of Moreland (north of Bell Street)
  • City of Whitehorse
  • Hobsons Bay City Council
  • Shire of Yarra Ranges

Outer Melbourne

The Outer Melbourne planning team, previously the Greenfields team, focusses on unlocking innovative and timely development outcomes in the greenfield areas and strategic sites and NEICs of outer Melbourne.  This is achieved by planning in partnership with local councils and state agencies to create high quality and liveable communities that integrate transport, jobs, housing, town centres, open space, community facilities, biodiversity and heritage values.

These areas include:

  • City of Casey
  • Cardinia Shire Council
  • Hume City Council (except for Broadmeadows)
  • Mitchell Shire Council
  • Melton City Council
  • Mornington Peninsula Shire
  • Nillumbik Shire Council
  • City of Whittlesea
  • Wyndham City Council
  • Yarra Ranges Council


Supporting the growth of regional and peri-urban cities, centres and towns by partnering with councils to deliver spatial planning solutions that reflect the diversity, strengths and aspirations of regional communities.

Planning, Infrastructure and Technical

The Planning, Infrastructure and Technical Group’s focus is on delivering quality, timely, and expert evidence base information, and post approval implementation of planning projects. The Group will have a particular emphasis on driving infrastructure coordination solutions across government to support implementation of Precinct Structure Plans (PSP’s) and other plans, including negotiation of Growth Area Infrastructure Contribution (GAIC) works-in-kind agreements.

Strategy Engagement and Futures

The Strategy, Engagement and Futures team is responsible for policy coordination, building stronger partnerships, strategic communications, engagement and urban design. The group is tasked with shaping and communicating the VPA’s message to inspire action and trust with our valued stakeholders.

Through evidence-based and multi-disciplinary design and analysis, this team enables the organisation to plan, visualise and communicate great places for Victoria’s current and future communities. The team ensures that our valued stakeholders and community members are engaged about our various projects and able to provide input to shape the outcomes for their local community.

Corporate Services

The Corporate Services team focuses on strengthening the capability, performance, accountability, efficiency and effectiveness of our people and our organisation. Key functions include Board Secretariat, risk, finance, information technology, people and culture, governance and organizational policy.