Streamlining for Growth

About the Program

The Streamlining for Growth Program is funded by the Victorian State Government and managed by the Victorian Planning Authority (VPA). It aims to provide support and capacity building for councils in regional Victoria and metropolitan Melbourne. Through the provision of targeted funding and staff resources, including development facilitation officers, the program assists to unblock delays in the strategic planning system and speed up the delivery of projects that provide employment growth and/or increased housing choice, diversity and affordability.

The program was developed and administered by the VPA for the 2016/17 financial year, and on 1 February 2017 the Treasurer, Tim Pallas, announced that the Victorian Government was extended the program for a further three years. This will bring the total investment in the program to $24 million over four years. Find out more here.

2016/17 Funding report

Please click here to view of 2016/17 Program Report (as shown below).

2017/18 Funding program

Click here to view the funding program from 2017/18.

2018/19 Funding announcements

We are very pleased to be able to continue working with our local government colleagues to open up sites for housing and jobs.

The first round of funding for the 2018/19 program was announced on Friday 10 August 2018, with $5.7 million in funding being allocated to 51 projects across Victoria. See the table for a full list of projects funded through this round:  Streamlining Projects Table.

(Streamlining For Growth Program 2016/17 Funding Report)

Aims of the program

Regional Councils:

  • build council capacity through grants and assistance
  • ensure a land supply pipeline to facilitate regional growth
  • implement Regional Growth Plans
  • undertake master planning for strategic sites

Metropolitan Councils:

  • streamline post-PSP subdivision approvals processes and provide strategic planning backlog support in greenfield growth areas
  • provide strategic planning support for Councils in established areas, to clear backlogs that help unlock brownfield and strategic development sites.

Contact:

General Program Enquiries 

Laurie Mitchell – (03) 9651 9680 or laurie.mitchell@vpa.vic.gov.au
Dean Rochfort – (03) 9651 9689 or dean.rochfort@vpa.vic.gov.au

Metropolitan Councils : Inner and Middle Urban, Outer Urban, Growth Areas

Emily Mottram (Inner Melbourne) (03) 9651 9625 or emily.mottram@vpa.vic.gov.au
Steve Dunn (Middle Melbourne) (03) 9651 9603 or steve.dunn@vpa.vic.gov.au
Alix Rhodes (Outer Melbourne) (03) 8644 8820 alix.rhodes@vpa.vic.gov.au

Regional Councils: PeriUrban, Regional Cities, Small and Medium Regionals

Brett Davis (Regional Victoria) (03) 8644 8817 or brett.davis@vpa.vic.gov.au